Tags

,

Last night while Jack was out interpreting college football for our British neighbor and her British friend, I hatched a brilliant plan.

The sex over here has been…strained, at best, lately. And, I am just not entirely sure how to fix it. But, it occurred to me last night that a change of scenery might be beneficial.

We usually get in at least a little bit of travel together during the summer, and it is usually good for us in the capital US sense. But, this year was the summer of the great bathroom remodel that ate all of our life everywhere.

I went to my cousin’s wedding, which meant that I got to see my family a bit. Jack missed that, though, because of a business engagement. I flew out to help out my sister after she had major surgery, and Jack stayed home to water the garden and feed the cat.

We went to our college reunion together. That was absolutely fabulous except for the part where I was felled by one of the worst colds/flu I have ever experienced in my adult life. Poor man had to drive every single one of the 1,000+ miles home while I moaned and coughed piteously in the reclined passenger seat.

So, yeah, not so sexy.

Anyway, I felt inspired last night. We could get a nice-ish room and go hang out in an arty mountain town near us for a weekend. We’ve been meaning to go forever and the weather should be downright lovely in the mountains this time of year. And, maybe, just maybe, we could break up the cycle of mediocre sex that we seem to have fallen into.

First, I considered next weekend, but Jack has an obligation on Saturday, and there is actually a party that we are both looking forward to that night. But, Eureka! The weekend after next is my birthday. Even better. If a birthday isn’t a perfect excuse to spend money on a random weekend away, I don’t know what is.

But, no. It turns out that Jack is going to a football game with his father that weekend. Professional. It’s both a deal and an indulgence to which they are not prone, blah, blah, blah.

I could be angry, I suppose. Jack did fail to mention this until I presented my grand plan. But, the truth is that if he had asked me last week, I would have told him to go ahead. I had no plans for Sunday until last night.

Le sigh. I guess we will can pick up our attempts to rekindle our sex life in three weeks.

Bah, I say.

